Hounds of All Shapes and Sizes

Earlier today, Alpha Dad took me for a short walk.  I had been complaining all morning about the injustice of his not taking me to the P-A-R-K, and I suppose he felt guilty when he agreed to take me around the block.

I have lots of doggie friends who live near my house.  Okay, they aren’t all my friends.  Like the german shepherd who thinks she is so much more intelligent than the rest of us (and probably is), and the poodle who barks and yips and scares me half to death every time I walk past.  And she always smells like peaches ‘n cream.

I always look forward to seeing my friends, the golden retrievers.  I’m not sure what sort of golden I prefer- the puppies because they’re more my size, or the adults because they don’t jump all over me.  Alpha Dad always says that golden retrievers are the nicest dogs at the P-A-R-K.  Clearly, he is not taking basset hounds into account.

My perspective on beagles is neutral.  They are loud and obnoxious, and they aren’t as handsome as basset hounds.  They’re inferior knock-offs of distinguished hounds like myself.  That being said, I’ve heard that when others copy you it’s best to take it as a complement.  I suppose that since there are so many beagles running around town, they must think quite highly of me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hounds of All Shapes and Sizes”

  1. thejoyofbasset Says:

    I can’t wait until we can take Sherman (9 weeks) out for a W-A-L-K too and meet some doggy friends ( not to be confused with dodgy friends which I certainly don’t want him having !). Nice to find a fellow basset blogger 🙂

  2. Jacqui Says:

    Abbey and Cooper, two wonderful bassets in the Bahamas, would agree with you about beagles. Who do they think they’re fooling?

    Follow the Bahamian Bassets at http://adventuresinexuma.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

